The Office of Distance and Extended Learning offers extension courses on the Texas State campus. The on-campus courses include American Sign Language, Arabic, Italian, and Chinese. Not all of these courses are offered every semester. For the list of courses and their availability, check the Announcements and Course Offerings pages on this Web site.
Off-campus, faculty-led extension programs usually take place in the summer months. The extension programs are limited to study within the United States. Courses in anthropology, geography, geology, theatre, and English are offered in these programs. Learn more about Extension programs by visiting the Program Offerings pages of this Web site.
ATTENTION STUDENTS APPLYING FOR GRADUATE COURSES
All applicants interested in enrolling in a 5000 level or above extension course(s) must first contact the Texas State Graduate College. This step must be completed before registration can be finalized into a graduate-level course.
The Office of Distance and Extended Learning is now accepting extension course applications for the Spring 2014 semester. Once we have processed your extension studies application, you will need to log into your Texas State Self-Service student account on Banner, check for any holds, and register, during your allocated registration period, in the extension course for which you submitted your extension course application. Course registration follows the Texas State registration schedule, including dates for late registration and schedule changes.
IMPORTANT NOTE: A completed & processed online Extension Studies application is required every semester.
Please review the Extension Course Application and Registration page carefully since the application and registration process for extension courses may have changed since you last applied and registered.
Face-to Face Online
3 Hour Course $682.89 $712.89
4 Hour Course $910.52 $950.52
6 Hour Course $1,365.78 $1,425.78
3 Hour Course $832.89 $862.89
Students enrolled in online courses will pay an online fee of $10 per credit hour in addition to tuition costs.
Required Meningitis Vaccination
As of January 1, 2012, Texas law requires that all new college students under 23 years old must be immunized against bacterial meningitis before they enroll in an institution of higher education. State law mandates that first-time college students, students transferring from another institution, and students who are re-enrolling following a break of at least one fall or spring semester be inoculated against the illness.
It is imperative that students who plan to enroll in a Texas State Extension course or program that includes any contact with the Texas State campus be vaccinated. Under the law, new college students must have received the vaccine within the past five years. Proof of inoculation or exemption is required upon enrollment. If you are 23 years old or older, you are exempt from the requirement under state law. Students who are not vaccinated cannot register for classes until proof of vaccination or exemption has been submitted.
Extension studies students enrolled in a course or program that includes any contact with the Texas State campus must file proof that they have received the vaccination or are exempt by the specified deadline. Students may purchase the vaccination through the Texas State Student Health Center, through an area public health clinic, or from another provider. More information is available from the Texas State Student Health Center.
The Office of Distance and Extended Learning will be closed for spring break starting on Monday, March 10, 2014 and will reopen on Monday, March 17, 2014. Office staff will be answering email and voice mail during the break on a limited basis.